Grinnell Award Committee

Committee Members: B. Coyner, G. Feldhamer, E. Lessa (outgoing), M. Matocq (Chair), and P. D. Sudman, B. Timm (incoming).

Mission:

The purpose of this committee is to solicit nominations for and select a recipient of the Joseph Grinnell Award. The Joseph Grinnell Award honors individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to education in mammalogy over a period of at least 10 years.

Information Items:

- (1) In Spring 2018, the committee reviewed application materials, chose the nominee, and forwarded their nomination to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. With enthusiastic approval of the board, the award recipient, Dr. Denise Dearing, was announced at the closing event of the 2018 Annual Meeting at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas. Dr. Dearing will receive the Grinnell plaque at the Plenary Session of the 2019 annual meeting in Washington DC.
- (2) In 2019, E. Lessa stepped down from the committee to prepare for his role as incoming President. Dr. Lessa's valuable contributions to the Grinnell Committee over the years are greatly appreciated. Dr. Robert Timm was invited to join the Grinnell Committee and joined in the committee's Spring 2019 deliberations.
- (3) In Spring 2019, the committee evaluated nomination material, chose the nominee, and forwarded their nomination to President Kelt and the ASM Board of Directors. The recipient will be announced at the closing event of the 2019 Annual Meeting in Washington DC.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$350.00 to produce the Grinnell Award.

Respectfully submitted,

Marjorie D. Matocq, Chair (mmatocq@cabnr.unr.edu)